San Diego Gulls to Open Training Camp in Irvine, CA

The San Diego Gulls recently announced that the American Hockey League (AHL) club will open its 2021 Training Camp Monday, Jan. 11 at Great Park Ice in Irvine, Calif.

Gulls head coach Kevin Dineen returns behind the bench for his second season, along with assistant coaches Sylvain Lefebvre and David Urquhart, as well as video coordinator Austin Violette.

San Diego’s training camp will be temporarily closed to media due to local health and safety protocols. A virtual media availability with coaches and players will take place daily during training camp. Media will be allowed to attend and cover Gulls home games at Great Park for the 2020-21 season. However, due to social distancing regulations, press box space will be extremely limited and advance notification will be required (no walk-ups).

“The San Diego Gulls number one priority is the overall health and safety of our players, staff and working personnel throughout our organization. The Gulls will temporarily play home games during the 2020-21 season at FivePoint Arena at Great Park Ice in Irvine, Calif. to ensure all players within the Anaheim Ducks organization are in one location under the same health protocols. The Gulls are committed to San Diego long-term and will return to Pechanga Arena San Diego as soon as it is feasible for the organization and deemed safe by local and state health officials to welcome back fans to the arena. We eagerly await the start of the upcoming season and look forward to playing in front of America’s Finest fans as soon as possible.”

American Hockey League President and Chief Executive Officer Scott Howson announced that the 2020-21 season will include 28 teams when it gets underway on February 5.

The AHL will operate in five divisions this season. Further details, including schedule formats and playoffs, are still to be determined.

Atlantic Division

Bridgeport Sound Tigers

Hartford Wolf Pack

Providence Bruins

Canadian Division

Belleville Senators

Laval Rocket

Manitoba Moose

Toronto Marlies

(all pending provincial government approval)

North Division

Binghamton Devils

Hershey Bears

Lehigh Valley Phantoms

Rochester Americans

Syracuse Crunch

Utica Comets

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins

Central Division

Chicago Wolves

Cleveland Monsters

Grand Rapids Griffins

Iowa Wild

Rockford IceHogs

Texas Stars

Pacific Division

Bakersfield Condors

Colorado Eagles

Henderson Silver Knights

Ontario Reign

San Diego Gulls

San Jose Barracuda

Stockton Heat

Tucson Roadrunners

Four teams have been granted provisional relocations for the 2020-21 season: the Binghamton Devils will play in Newark, N.J.; the Ontario Reign will play in El Segundo, Calif.; the Providence Bruins will play in Marlborough, Mass.; and the San Diego Gulls will play in Irvine, Calif.

The Charlotte Checkers, Milwaukee Admirals and Springfield Thunderbirds have elected to opt out of play for the 2020-21 season. All three teams will return to play in 2021-22.

In operation since 1936, the AHL serves as the top development league for all 31 National Hockey League teams. Nearly 90 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and more than 100 honored members of the Hockey Hall of Fame spent time in the AHL in their careers.