Candidate Statements for the 2019 Clairemont Community Planning Group Election on 3/19

It is that time of year again the Clairemont Community Planning Group elections.

Last year in all of District 2 & District 6 twenty-nine (29) people voted! 29.  Here’s hoping many, many more can make it over to North Clairemont Rec Center on March 19th to vote. (more info below)

There are eight (8) seats open and twelve (12) candidates

Who Can Vote?

Voters must be 18 years old or older and must establish themselves as an eligible member of the community as follows:

  1. a) a property owner, who is an individual identified as the sole or partial owner of record, or their designee, of a real property (either developed or undeveloped), within the community planning area, or
  2. b) resident, who is an individual whose primary address of residence is an address in the community planning area, or
  3. c) local business person, who is a local business owner, operator, or their designee at a non-residential real property address in the community planning area.

Voters must demonstrate themselves qualified with suitable documents to prove their eligibility category. Suitable documents include but are not limited to a California driver’s license, California identification card, utility bill, rental receipt or mortgage payment coupon.

Election results:

Election results will be reported by the Elections Subcommittee chairperson to the CCPG as a special item on the March agenda. The March CCPG meeting will be held on March 19th starting at 6:30 PM at Alcott Elementary School: 4680 Hidalgo Ave, San Diego, CA 92117.

Challenge Period:

After election results are reported, the elections subcommittee chairperson will announce the beginning of a 24 hour period in which election challenges must be received by the elections subcommittee to be considered. If no challenge is received, the results will become final and will be certified by the CCPG chair and forwarded to the City.

Voting Location & Hours:

Location:North Clairemont Rec Center: 4421 Bannock Avenue, San Diego, CA 92117. Room 2

Date: Tuesday, March 19th, 2019

Time: 9am-6pm

*Note Click on a statement and the candidates will appear in a larger format slideshow

** Candidates listed alphabetically by last name

Candidate Statements from Current Members of CCPG


Gary Christensen





Chad Gardner





Richard Jensen (statement forthcoming)

Nicholas Reed







Ryan Rolla








Jason Young






Matt Valenti (statement forthcoming)

Candidate Statements by Members of the Community Running for a Seat on the CCPG

Michael Brewer





Erin Cullen





David Curtis






Morey Rahimi








Carol Schleisman








All candidate statements will be available at the polling location on the day of the election.

Vote on Tuesday March 19th, 2019 from 9am to 6pm at North Clairemont Recreation Center at 4421 Bannock Ave.